PDA

View Full Version : Flash Transmitter & Receiver

Pobbs
06-09-2012, 7:52pm
Hiya

I have ordered a Yongnuo YN560II flashgun [after reading some reviews online and here], as I'm totally new to flash, and wanting to learn. Hoping it doesn't take a month to arrive like some peoples!

My mentor, hasn't heard of Yongnuo, she uses Canon. She let me have a play of her Canon flash this afternoon, and also showed me a wireless transmitter and receiver.

I have a Canon 550D. I really want to get a transmitter and receiver and am thinking of buying a Yongnuo one [start cheap / work your way up mentality].

I have had a look at the official Ebay store, but can't work out if there's a specific one I need to order?

Hoping someone can help with some advice, or experience with using them?

Thank you in advance for any replies.

Epoc
07-09-2012, 10:34am
Hi Pobbs, I have a 4 of the Yongnuo 603 triggers. I love them. Never had a misfire, their range is awesome and they are cheap. One thing to realise, your 560's (I have 2 of these as well) are totally manual. No TTL metering like a genuine Canon flash. This means you will have to set the power of the flash manually. It's not hard to do, but it's not as easy as TTL.

With the 603 triggers, you need to make sure you buy C1 versions which are suitable for your 550D.

Hope this helps.

Pobbs
07-09-2012, 10:48am
Thanks Ian. Yep I bought them on purpose so it would force me to learn about manually setting the flash.

C1 version, will this be apparent on their site which has these?

And do you know if the TTL versions of their flashguns work with Canon?

Epoc
07-09-2012, 11:33am
Most sellers state the model. Just make sure you pick one which specifically states C1.

If you search Yongnuo TTL on fleabay, there are a few models which state TTL on 550D. So, going on that I'd say yes they should work. However as I shoot Nikon, so I can't say definitely from experience. You could always ask the question of the seller.

Pobbs