PDA

View Full Version : What does this sound like and what would you do?

Pobbs
25-08-2012, 8:09pm
A photographer friend of mine, who charges etc, and who graciously allows me to badger her with questions, tips, etc, just asked me what I thought this meant:

For context, this is the third email from the client, who asked how much to shoot her two sons, then accepted the 'quote'.

"Also i have my 10 year old niece living with me as her mum is a single parent in the RAAF and away for work so i am thinking it might be nice to get some photos of her as well as a surprise for her mum. So if possible can we also do another lot with her on the day?"

Does this sound like please throw in these shots for free?

I told my friend I think it does. She doesnt want to do them for free.

How would you handle it?

Mark L
25-08-2012, 8:48pm
I'm no expert, and we don't know the terms of the quote, but I'm thinking, time for a new quote.

- - - Updated - - -

"Id be happy to take some photos of your 10 year old niece. It would be a wonderful surprise for her mother. Please find attached my adjusted quote .........." :confused013

ricktas
25-08-2012, 8:49pm
Not enough information. If I was doing a family shoot (which is that this seems like from the info we have) then I would expect to shoot members of the family, whether that be one, two, three children. For all intents and purposes this child is part of this family.

So without knowing the full details of the negotiations, shoot, etc, I would say if the photographer is taking on a domestic family portraiture shoot, then the photographer should consider this child as part of that family portraiture shoot.

Longshots
03-09-2012, 6:25am