PDA

View Full Version : Does the dynamic range of your camera change if you increase the ISO?

Tai
14-08-2012, 1:47pm
I am new to photography and have just finished doing my first ever grey scale test to figure out the dynamic range of my camera when I had a thought.

Would the dynamic range of my camera change if I increased the ISO? :rolleyes:

I have a Canon 5D mark II and after completing my grey scale test I found that the dynamic range of my camera was 11.

But would this stay the same if I increased the ISO from 100 to a higher setting maybe to 400 or 800?

I would go out and redo the test again and I plan to but it is raining very heavily today so I thought I would post on here and see what everyone else thinks of this question while I wait for a better day to go outside.

So can anyone tell me would the dynamic range change if I increased it?

If I had to guess I would say the lower the ISO is the higher DR and the higher the ISO is the lowers the DR? :confused013

Maybe? I'm just guessing and I'm sure you can all give me a much better answer to this question that me just guessing.

THANKS! :D

ricktas
14-08-2012, 1:52pm
No. The dynamic range of your sensor is set. It is the number of f/stops that your camera sensor can effectively capture in one photo, changing the ISO changes the sensitivty of the sensor to light, but it can still only capture the same f/stop range. Currently the Nikon D800 has the largest dynamic range of around 14 stops. The human eye is at least 25 stops.

xxdrakexx
14-08-2012, 1:52pm
:umm::umm: not knowing much about this but from my experience with ISO id probably say no

Tai
14-08-2012, 2:01pm