PDA

View Full Version : Nikon AF-S 200-400mm f4 VR

Lanny
10-08-2012, 10:35am
Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone here has used the Nikon 200-400mm lens? If so, what has been your opinion of it.

I am into wildlife photography as a break from my general day to day wedding and commercial side of things.

I will be totally honest here and say that yes primes are much better at sharpness but I am not wanting to move around too much just to frame the shot (if that makes sense?)

Anyway, I was hoping for some feedback if any.

Sorry the model I am wanting is the first one VR1 not VR2 with Nanocrystal. Unless it makes a massive difference in quality of image?

Any input will be appreciated:)

Lanny

Sar NOP
15-08-2012, 6:23pm
I've been using this lens for 6 years now, mainly for birds and outdoor sport.
If I have to keep only one lens, it will be no doubt this 200-400/4.
No surprise for IQ on both FX and DX cameras : excellent sharpness wide open, saturated colour and very good bokeh.
AF speed depends on camera you use (I remember my old D70 struggled to cope with this massive zoom lens !), especially when a TC is attached to it. It performs extremely well on the D800, even with the 3 Nikon TCs.

mongo
15-08-2012, 6:52pm
Mongo has had the VR1 for about 3 years.

Mongo has had very mixed results - some stunning (and the lens is most capable of producing this level of image even with X1.4 converter) and others very ordinary. It seems there are a few variables that you have to get just right to get the brilliant results the lens is capable of. From Mongo's experience and deductions, it may be down to how well you use the lens and how accurately you can get it to focus on the subject. If this is achieved, then you can expect brilliant results. It is handy and versatile although just bordering on the edge of getting a little big/heavy but not as much as its alternatives.