PDA

View Full Version : training vs no training

Karla74
30-07-2012, 9:16am
Hi there, I have been an active amateur photographer around my local area for about 2-3 yrs now, with a few professional jobs thrown in here and there. I have spoken with a lot of the professional photographers in town and I was surprised to find out that they don't have any formal photographic training. I studied photography in high school and was considering doing more studies in the future. My question is, how may of the "Advanced" and "intermediate" photographers who are members of this forum are trained? Is it generally considered a prerequisite to get into professional photography? and, Is doing a course online considered adequate?

I would be appreciative of any and all response.

Thanks

Karla

kiwi
30-07-2012, 10:26am
I'm self trained as are most fellow photographers I know

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Eberbachl
30-07-2012, 10:28am
I think it depends on the individual.

Many people benefit from structured training. On campus or online courses can be fine. It doesn't depend so much on the medium, but the provider.

Many others don't need it at all, and are motivated and enthusiastic enough to conduct their own research on the Internet and in books etc, and get shooting all on their own.

There is no right answer.

:D

kiwi
30-07-2012, 10:32am
Agreed, people learn very differently. And as long as our do learn and do progress and measure yourself I don't think photography is a discipline you need formal training with, instead, if you intend on becoming a pro it's marketing and business that will offer most benefit in running a photography business.....or....when that fails (look at stats) another job altogether

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

reaction
30-07-2012, 10:59am
I think people who fall into this as a hobby will not go for formal training so much. I mean no course could cover the detail found online.