PDA

View Full Version : YongNuo Speedlite?

cphosavanh
21-07-2012, 5:41pm
I've never used a speedlite before, and I stumbled upon the YONGNUO YN-460 Speedlite when I was "window" shopping online.

Factsheet
http://www.yongnuoebay.com/sm/yn460e.pdf

For around $40, would it be a good first speedlite or should I get something more reliable for a couple hundred? :confused013
Has anyone used this flash before?
Is it any realiable? I mean, for $40, I wouldn't be expecting much, but I'd at least hope it would work for maybe a year or a few.

I realise there are a couple comparison with other speedlites from a couple years ago, but it would be good to get some fresh opinions :)

Thanks

I @ M
21-07-2012, 5:52pm
The reliability wouldn't concern me so much as whether you should be asking the questions of "do I have the knowledge to operate fully manual lighting" which is what that flash will offer you.
They are cheap, they do seem to work fairly reliably but you won't have any fancy built in ability to run automatic metering with your camera ( brand unknown ) so perhaps if you are a beginner to flash work spend a helluva lot of time researching flashes and their various features and capabilities before spending any dollars on them.

OzzieTraveller
21-07-2012, 10:12pm
G'day cp

To follow on from Andrew ...
I own and use 4x Yongnuo flashguns - I don't use the term 'speedlight' as that is someone else's trademarked name
The 460 is a flashgun - a good quality but basic flash that will work with any camera with a hotshoe
It also is a slave gun - and it is this feature that I make lots of use of - triggering with either the on-camera flash or via Yongnuo triggers

The equipment is as well made as Metz or Sigma 3rd party flash makers and you can get it from several sources - however I do not deal with ebay so cannot comment on that end of things

Regards, Phil

cphosavanh
22-07-2012, 7:12pm
Hmm, yeah, I missed the detailing that I'd have to use it in manual..