PDA

View Full Version : Help!!!........Flash for Nikon D90

Leithal
20-07-2012, 1:00pm
G'day guys,

Very lost in looking for what I need or should be buying.

I am looking a buying a flash for my D90 as it seems a necessary buy to improve on my low light/ indoors photography rather than using the pop up flash. (I tend to get a shadow from the lens using the pop up).

As the Nikon branded flashes are quite expensive (im on a budget being a beginner), does anyone have any suggestions on a relatively good generic flash for my D90?

I have had a bit of a look on ebay at brands such as Vivitar & Nissin but am totally unsure of these brands or what I should be buying for flash photography as I am new to it.

Any help will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

patrickv
20-07-2012, 2:41pm
Nissin Di866 is very good

junqbox
20-07-2012, 3:40pm
not usre if it's suitable for you, but the Nikon SB-400 is an affordable speedlight which can be useful for the right circumstances.

Leithal
20-07-2012, 4:12pm
Has any one heard of Yongnuo. just found a flash made by them on ebay for $67. But as i said above not to sure about certain brands or why so cheap.

I @ M
20-07-2012, 5:13pm
Leithal, Nikon have had a very good flash system for quite a few years now. It has been regarded so highly in that time that due to the simple reason that it works extremely well compared to other brands, especially for people learning the the whole flash "thing".
There is nothing at all wrong with many of the non OEM brands such as Metz, Nissin, Yongnuo etc but most of them have slight compromises in the system ( particularly for new users ) that can lead to disappointment.
Going out and buying either the top of the line ( expensive ) or the generic brands can lead to frustration unless the whole subject is researched thoroughly first.