PDA

View Full Version : $35/hour and supply your own gear? Really?

MissionMan
12-07-2012, 9:07pm
I'm not a professional photographer by any standards but I'm fortunate enough to have a full time job that helps sponsor my hobby. I was trawling through seek.com.au the other day (I use it as a hunting ground to identify what projects are happening in our industry) and decided to do a search for photographers to see what the market was like. No intention of shifting across, pure curiosity.

One of the first ads that caught my eye was this one:

http://www.seek.com.au/Job/photographers/in/melbourne-melbourne/22592511

They're looking for a photographer, with the following equipment guidelines:

Camera Body: Nikon or Canon
Professional 500W-1000W Studio lighting
2nd Camera Body - Nikon or Canon
Pro 24 - 70mm 2.8 lens
Pro 70 - 200mm 2.8 lens
Pro 300 or 400mm 2.8 lens

So, in short, they're looking for a competent photographer (outdoor and studio experience), with about $20k+ worth of gear and they're prepared to pay the sum of $35/hour?

Is it really that bad out there? Or am I missing the point?

kiwi
12-07-2012, 9:21pm
Seems to be a rate that is often put forward, eg for contract sport or event shooters

I don't bother for that personally but plenty will

Kym
12-07-2012, 9:26pm
$20,000 worth of gear inc insurance?
divide by $35 = ~571 hours or 15 x 38 hours weeks just to recoup the gear costs.
Bah!

norwest
12-07-2012, 9:43pm
You could also be assured there'd be a very grey area in the definition of hours of work and a silk purse end product expected in a sow's ear time frame.

kiwi
12-07-2012, 10:31pm
Yes, the rate is prob shooting time only which is maybe 1/3 of total time involved in a shoot

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

xxdrakexx
12-07-2012, 10:43pm
O_o OMG

kiwi
12-07-2012, 10:55pm