PDA

View Full Version : tripod

TRK
11-07-2012, 3:54pm
Hi all

I am keen to get a tripod but dont know where to start. I am 6ft 3, and mainly like to shoot landscapes and do photo manipulation portraits. I dont want to spend to much money at the moment. Can anyone recomend a good tripod at a reasonable price?

cheers

Sifor
11-07-2012, 4:35pm
Hi. I can share my experiences with buying tripods. I'm not a pro, nor have I purchased many tripods, however I know what mistakes I've made.

I purchased a $120 Vanguard tripod kit with 3 way pan head. It was fine for my Canon 1100D with basic 18-55mm kit lens.

There are three elements to a tripod: light weight, sturdiness and cost. You can have two of them while sacrificing the third.

My Vanguard was cheap and lightweight but sacrificed on sturdiness. My new manfrotto 055 (yet to arrive) will be (I hope!) sturdy and reasonably cheap (~$250 for legs, $115 for the ball head in Aus) at the expense of weight.. 2.3kg if I recall correctly. To get something lightweight and sturdy you're probably looking at expensive carbon fibre.

I'd buy the most expensive tripod you can afford.. don't do what I did and buy a cheap one ~$100-$150 and expect it to be awesome. It'll do it's job for a small DSLR, however if your gear is weighing 2kg+ you'll want something that can take the weight. My vanguard was rated to 3kg, my gear is 2kg.. not a lot of room there and it shows.

Also given that you're tall you'll want a tripod that doesn't need the centre column to be extended (doing so really sacrifices sturdiness!). I hate bending over, and at 5"8' the Manfrotto 055 seems to reach my eye height without having to extend the centre column. You may need something different, others here might have some other suggestions for you.

I'm sure others on this forum will have much better technical advice and experience in buying tripods. Those are my thoughts anyway. Good luck!

ricktas
11-07-2012, 6:38pm