PDA

View Full Version : Which one to buy, Nikon D800 or D800E

flyreels
11-07-2012, 1:48pm
Ok, so I was a very keen photographer when I was younger, I even had my own dedicated dark room set up for colour and black and white and I was printing wedding, portraiture prints and the likes for some of the local photographers in and around Hobart, but I have been out of photography for about 20 years now.

I have decided its time to get back into it, so I am buying a new camera (its only a hobby for me), I want to buy a Nikon and I have narrowed it down to the D800 or 800E, I will be using it for everything but my main interests however are macro, wildlife and motor sports, so which one would you buy and why.

Has anyone who owns an D800E had much trouble with any Aliasing, Moiré.

Not having any experience with DSLR any advice and help welcome.
Cheers Peter

ving
11-07-2012, 2:05pm
from reviews i'd say you wouldnt be able to tell the difference... might as well save the money.

Sifor
11-07-2012, 2:23pm
I think Ving is on the right track. The E version will allow you to squeeze every last inch of detail out of the sensor, so in my opinion unless you're printing on billboards it may be an overkill? If you've got the money go for it, however personally I'd rather save the $300-$400 extra and put that to a nice new tripod or something.

I love my D800 (but for the left AF focus issue.. story for another thread) and when paired with some good Nikon 2.8 glass it's amazing what you can do. Haven't got a telephoto lens? No problem! Just crop the crap out of it! :lol:

phototyke
18-07-2012, 10:38am
depends what you want to photograph and whether it needs the 36mp of a D800,the slower FPS for sport is a drawback.

reaction
19-07-2012, 8:28am
macro, wildlife and motor sports, then the D800.
Seems that Aliasing, Moiré are not real issues, and the benefit of E is best for portraits at wide apertures. Which you haven't listed.

mongo
19-07-2012, 10:20am