PDA

View Full Version : Image res and printing sizes?

Miss Jane
25-06-2012, 9:29pm
I am really new to printing photos and selling them. Haven't done much since film days. I have been thrown in at the deep end with people wanting to purchase photos so have done a heap of reading and trying to get it right.
My problem is selling images when the res is too low for a certain size print.
But now the I have one that is a couple inches too small. How do I know what is the smallest res I can use and the photo still look alright? A couple of my images have been 3 - 5mb to start with but I have had to crop them out a fair bit and brought the size down to 620kb. Is there a way of increasing the res?

arthurking83
25-06-2012, 10:43pm
.... Is there a way of increasing the res?

ahhhhh! .. not really!

3-5Mb and cropped to 620kb is a monumentally monstrous mega crop!! :eek:

That is, you are basically going from a full sized image say 4000x3000 pixel (JPG) image down to a 1000x600 pixel (JPG) image without any recompression.
That's a significant crop, and not one to do with impunity.
That's similar to using a 50mm lens to achieve the framing of a 400mm lens. by cropping the image! That's pretty extreme.

I dare say that in this cropping and saving you have recompressed the image again, and used a lower image quality setting that you should have.(just a guess)

Post some images if you can to show us what it is you;re trying to describe.

You can do image upscaling(or uprezzing), but to a very limited degree. Maybe 10% increase without any loss of IQ. But this is assuming that the image has very high quality detail to begin with.

Unfortunately, when the final image is saved to a lower size resolution or compression level, you become stuck with it.

What I know about printing(not all that much really, but enough to get me by) is that it's not just a matter of how large you can print a file.