PDA

View Full Version : Astronomik, Canon and astro-imaging. Anyone tried Clip-Filters ?

mickyj
10-06-2012, 2:52pm
Hello,

I am almost a complete Newbie to Astrophotography. My skills are limited to High ISO 30 sec shots of the Milky way and 1 hour shots at low ISO of the stars at the horizen, using the Southern Cross to pinpoint the center of the star trails.

I have an el-cheapo Telescope and a T adaptor that does not fit :(

Up until now I have used my canon 5D and 70-200 mm for star shots. I have seen some really cool shots using hydrogen-alpha solar filters and was looking at maybe getting a Clip-Filter (EOS) with ASTRONOMIK H-Alpha-CCD 12nm, for my Canon 7D.

Has anyone used these on Canon and can give pointers? Can anyone give any pointers on starting with Astrophotography with a very small budget ?

ameerat42
10-06-2012, 3:35pm
Ha-ha Mickyj. I guess "Don't start with H-alpha filters." would keep the costs down. I've been looking at them myself, recently, and they do cost.
Even the small broader band ones for the front of eyepieces are expensive.

Of the shots you've seen on AP, I would doubt that any H-alpha filters were used. People mostly stack frames to produce either trails or detailed starfields.

What is your el-cheapo scope, and I'd be interested to know why the T-adapter doesn't fit.
Am.

Edit: (Forgot in my haste) Do you have an equatorial mount to track stars? I had a look at some of your gear. Wide aperture glass is essential for good star shots. At least an inch (2.5 cm) of clear aperture used to be the rule-of-thumb.

mickyj
10-06-2012, 7:26pm
Thanks for the reply. I have read that the IR Cut off filter in the Canon Camera's should be removed for the best results with H-alpha but I am reading on the Astronomik website that their clip filters do not need you to do this. That is one of the reasons I wanted to throw the question out there and hoped someone might have tried it :)