PDA

View Full Version : Vivid festival

hopefull
19-05-2012, 12:50pm
Hi, I am hoping to attend the Vivid Festival in Sydney. As a total novice I have no idea of settings etc to capture the colourful night images.
I have a Canon 500d, 18-135 lens, 90mm macro lens.
Any / all advice appreciated. Thanks

William W
19-05-2012, 3:02pm
A tripod would be a useful addition to that kit.

WW

ricktas
19-05-2012, 3:20pm
Yep for night shots, a tripod is a must!

You will find you are shooting between a couple of second and 30 second (or more) exposures at night. The only way to ensure these come out well is to have your camera on a tripod or another firm hard surface so it does not move at all during the exposures.

William W
19-05-2012, 3:53pm
. . . also I meant to mention to use "Mirror Lock Up" - I am pretty sure it is avaialble on a 500D - it most likely will be in your "Custom Functions Menu"

(and a remote release is very useful for Tv between about 1/15th second and 2 seconds).

WW

Mark L
19-05-2012, 9:50pm
Learn with others http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?103271-Sydney-Vivid-AP-Meet-Saturday-26-May-2012

hopefull
20-05-2012, 4:34am
Thanks, lots of helpful advice.

Maezyra
27-05-2012, 3:47pm
What a shame you missed the AP meet for this! (It was last night) But definitely give this a go!! The best way to learn is through experience.