PDA

View Full Version : Another newbie

Art Vandelay
30-04-2012, 12:29pm
I have to say video on dslr or video in general is a whole new ball game with regard to how much to learn..

Have recently started mucking around with it with a view to documenting a few fishing trips & a bit of family stuff.

So here's a couple of tips from an absolute newbie perspective using both my weeks of experience to draw on :p

Shutter speed. Ignore your shutter speed in the conventional sense. For fluid video use double the frame rate of the video. ie 24fps use 1/50, for 30fps use 1/60. google 180 degree shutter rule. It takes a while to get your head around this. (like anything, rules can be broken.. but that's a common technique for fluid video that pleases the eye, and also what you're used to seeing on TV & cinemas).

Aperture & ISO are the same.

Correct exposure can be a problem. You basically have to shut out a fair bit of light. Particularly if using wider apertures. You can't just up your shutter speed to get the correct exposure. (see above).

ie a regular sunny day exposure of f/16, ISO 100 & 1/100 (or 1/125) is difficult. To get that shutter speed down to 1/50 or 1/60 you need a smaller aperture. You can see then the problem of wanting to use a wider aperture, you need an ND filter to shut some light out.

Correct video is all about nice smooth controlled camera movements. Making people seasick isn't the aim. Besides a tripod, there's a bunch of other gizmos for stabilizing and allowing smooth camera movement. Also, Don't zoom while filming. Move the camera.

Video is done in live view. In harsh sunlight it is a bitch to see it properly. Those viewfinder extension thingos would make good sense.
Focusing is also an art.

Software & rendering your film: A collection of small interesting clips is more interesting than one long session. The whole art of story telling in a film is a huuuge technique to try and learn too.