PDA

View Full Version : Image stolen (again). Anyone recommend a WA copyright lawyer?

teaco
22-04-2012, 1:06am
I've just found a clothing company using one of my images on their facebook page. My watermark is still on it even. This particular clothing company had previously been told they couldn't use it, but looks like they decided to use it without permission.

I have no experience in dealing with this sort of thing so was going to consult a lawyer and send an invoice. Is there anyone over here in WA that could be recommended?

Chris G
22-04-2012, 7:23am
This is pretty concerning and I hate to say this but, are you sure its not Facebook themselves stealing your work? as they do have the rights to any image due to being uploaded onto their site..

As far as any Australian company or international goes, I'm pretty sure this a major no no and a breach of Australian copyright laws, there is a thread around the AP site regarding the laws and I'm sure someone or a mod will redirect you to that link for a follow up..

Undoubtedly it's best to seek legal advise in this situation and at best all you can do is send them a email / PM regarding the image/s until you can get that advise from professional help.

Hope that helps alittle..

ricktas
22-04-2012, 7:53am
get screen shots etc. gather as mch info as you can, cause if they remove the photo, you need proof it was on their page.

Analog6
22-04-2012, 8:51am
Your post sent me searching for my latest Better Photography as Issue 66 had an excellent article on just this topic (titled Google Image Search but it is about image theft by internet) by Shelia Smart. I would scan it for you but my scanner/printer is US at the moment - maybe some other APer could do it and email to you? Or you can buy the issue online and download it as pdf, or check your local library and make a copy.

Her points:
1. As Rick said, get a screen shot and include the date in the image.