PDA

View Full Version : Needing some basic pointers on lightroom......

thenail
26-03-2012, 11:45pm
Hi All,

I freely admit that I'm a complete novice when it comes to PP..... so now that's out of the way :-)

I seem to be having issues at the point of import, the thumbnail images look visibly sharper before i click on them. The default preset seems to apply as soon as i click and display the image full screen in the second monitor and then the image gets muddy, colors wise and looses sharpness. I didn't have this problem with my 50D this seems to only be happening since acquiring my 1DmkIII.

Do i need to configure LR to handle the MkIII RAW files? Is there something I'm missing here?

I'd really appreciate someone assuming I'm an idiot and outlining a basic install/setup/import images step by step guide (including the bleeding obvious) for me!

Thanks in advance.

ricktas
27-03-2012, 6:32am
have you checked for updates to LR? You can also turn off the application of a preset on import. I did it ages ago to my LR, just google it to find the answer on how, cause I cannot remember.

As this is only happening to the one camera, what colourspace is it importing as? AdobeRGB tends to look flat and washed out if you are not running it in a suitable environment (ie its importing as AdobeRGB, but displaying in sRGB).

If you are a novice in relation to PP, get a copy of Scott Kelbys book "Adobe photoshop lightroom for digital photogaphers" for your version on LR and read it, all of it. It will give you a wealth of knowledge on how to use LR, from setting it up, to basic processing, to workflows for specific genre.

kiwi
27-03-2012, 7:16am