PDA

View Full Version : Lightning photos

AWB
24-02-2012, 12:00pm
Hi,
I think fork lightning photos are beautiful. But i'm really new to photography and am not sure about settings, modes, ISO, ?use tripod, i'm thinking fastest possible shutter speed etc. So i thought i would ask in preparation for the next thunder and lightning storm. Any advice....
Thanks in advance
Ali

Nicole71
24-02-2012, 12:14pm
Hi Ali,

Lightning is one of my favorite things to photograph but be prepared that it takes extreme patience! Some nights I will take 300 shots for 3 decent photos. Definitely use a tripod and a remote shutter release, and instead of a fast shutter speed, use the bulb setting. The secret is to hold the shutter open, and close it after a strike. Lightning is so fast, by the time you react, it's gone. I time roughly how long it is between strikes (just count it in my head) and when another one is just about due, I open the shutter and wait. I then close the shutter either after a strike, or when too much time has passed (from my balcony it's 15 to 20 seconds before the street lights blow the shot out).

Good luck!

Nicole

Mark L
26-02-2012, 8:32pm
No expert here, but a few thoughts.
To predict where lightening will happen is hard, so you need your shutter open. Shutter not open, no lightning photo. This makes it hard to get photos in daylight, unless you have ND filters.
Low ISO = less noise.
As Nicole mentioned, is there any other light that will affect the photo. As opposed to her using bulb, I'm trying manual and if a bolt happens, I just cover the lens with my hand until exposure time is up. Or not bother. I got one photo with two bolts that happened within 30 seconds that looked okay.
So this link had ISO 100, f/16 (to control the lights and give a little more DOF) and 30 second exposure........http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?100314-Lightning-over-Mudgee

I'll be learning from what others have to say also.
Good luck Ali.

Lazyshooter