View Full Version : Remotes with K5

20-02-2012, 3:47pm
I have had my K5 for a bit over one month and am loving it.

However, and there always seems to be a 'however', neither my cable remote nor my IR remote seem to work, and they were both fine on the K20D.

The only remote function enabling I can find is with the 4 way controller.

OK, I suspect I'm having a 'Senior's Moment' and missing something simple, but crucial. :confused013

Any help welcomed.



20-02-2012, 8:45pm
check your costom settings

21-02-2012, 10:55am
The only setting I could find was to enable the IR Remote with the 4-way controller on the back of the camera.

The plug-in cable switch should just be an additional physical shutter switch requiring no setting up, shouldn't it ?

I have had them both for a few years so it is possible that they have passed away. :eek:

At around $10 for a new generic cable switch I guess it's cheap enough to try another.

21-02-2012, 3:36pm
i went through 3 cable remotes on my k7.
went into camera house and got a wireless remote which will work on pentax canon and nikon.
only cost a few dollars and the battery lasts a long time
check the out

21-02-2012, 3:39pm
I use the same home made Cable release on my k5 as I did on my k10 - not a problem at all, no custom settings required ....

Edit to say:
the k5 is a beautiful body, the more you use it, the more you will fall in love with it!

21-02-2012, 6:24pm
Thanks Greg

I've just ordered a new cable release so I will see what happens when it arrives later this week.

And you are right, the K5 impresses me more every time I use it.



21-02-2012, 7:17pm
And Muddie, I hope the new cable remote works.

If it doesn't I guess I'll have to toddle off to a camera store and try a few like you had to.

Fingers crossed.



21-02-2012, 8:59pm
i prefer my wireless remote as i can lock the mirror up and release the shutter without touching the camera in any way, thus maximising image quality

21-02-2012, 9:17pm
Is that IR Remote similar to this one ?


22-02-2012, 7:39am
yes it is. mine only does shutter release. it does not have those other functions.
for the price your one would be great value.

24-02-2012, 11:18am
Cable release arrived today. Plugged it in and all is working now.

I guess my old cable release carked it the same time as the battery died in the IR Release.

Anyway all good now and thanks for the help. :th3:



05-10-2012, 6:03pm
I had the same problem on k7 ok no go on k5
got a wireless remote which will work on pentax canon and nikon.
only cost a few dollars and the battery lasts a long time

08-10-2012, 8:47am
I picked up a mz5n with a 35mm 2.8 prime the other week from an op shop, turns out it had an infared remote in the strap.
20 odd years old and still works perfectly on my k5!!

I love pentax's backwards compatibility!